Experienced. Effective. Results.

Photo of Douglas Garner

Douglas Garner

Social Security Disability FAQ

Social Security Disability Insurance

Supplemental Security Income

The Stages Of The Disability Process

How The Disability Process Works

There are four levels of review in the Social Security Disability system:

  • Initial determination Complete and file your initial application. While you do not necessarily need an attorney at this stage, we can improve your chances of being approved.
  • Request for reconsideration: If you are denied, you may appeal. This appeal is called a request for reconsideration.
  • Hearing: An Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) will review your claim. Vocational or medical experts sometimes testify. You should have an attorney for the hearing.
  • Review by the Appeals Council: If the ALJ denies your claim, you can ask for review by the Appeals Council in Falls Church, Virginia. If the Appeals Council denies the appeal, that decision becomes final. The Appeals Council can also award benefits or send the claim back for another hearing.

No matter what stage of the process you are in, contact us for a free consultation. We will carefully review your situation and provide advice regarding your claim.

Contact Pillar Law Group

At Pillar Law Group LLP, Social Security consultations are free. Contact our office to learn more about our services or schedule a meeting. Call us at 812-994-0520 or contact us online.


Pillar Law Group LLP

We Can Help You Today

Reach out to our firm via email or call us today for effective solutions to your legal concerns.